Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.
 
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in
 
 
 
        
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On


Add to briefcase

Target Server Blocked status Expand / Collapse
Author
Message
Posted Wednesday, November 19, 2003 7:05 AM
SSC Journeyman

SSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC Journeyman

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, August 30, 2007 7:06 AM
Points: 81, Visits: 1
Our shop makes heavy use of multi-server administration. Occaisionally, when viewing target server status from enterprise manager on the master server (SQL Server Agent > Multi-Server Administration > Manage Target Servers..), one or more target servers will have a status of "Blocked". We have discovered the stored proc sp_resync_targetserver which clears the problem (although it also removes job history data). However, I am trying to understand more about this blocked status. What does "blocked" actually mean? What causes it to occur? What methods are available to detect and correct the problem? etc. etc. Books on Line is pretty silent in this area with just a couple of terse references and no explaination.
Our environment is all SQL 2000 sp2 (with hotfixes),Win2000 sp3, 1 master server and 40 target servers. All target servers are in active/active 2 node clusters. Using TCP/IP.
Any insights would be greatly appreciated.




Post #18365
Posted Monday, November 24, 2003 12:00 PM
SSChampion

SSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampion

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, May 18, 2007 3:36 PM
Points: 10,039, Visits: 1
No one has responded to this topic yet. Even if you don't have a complete answer, the original poster will appreciate any thoughts you have!
Post #87764
Posted Tuesday, June 10, 2014 7:57 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, July 10, 2014 6:44 AM
Points: 1, Visits: 100
just open "download instruction" and delete all failed instructions.

so blocked means that some instructions failed to apply
Post #1579217
« Prev Topic | Next Topic »

Add to briefcase

Permissions Expand / Collapse