Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

Titles Matter Expand / Collapse
Author
SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Group: Moderators
Last Login: 2 days ago @ 6:56 AM
Comments posted to this topic are about the item Titles Matter

Andy
SQLAndy - My Blog!
Connect with me on LinkedIn
Follow me on Twitter
Post #1600997
Posted Friday, August 8, 2014 2:04 AM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 11:58 AM
Working as a freelancer I thought titles would hardly matter but they still do. People like to think in generalised terms and when they glance at your CV/Resume, security badge, LDAP properties etc. they will make assumptions based on what they see. Often Job titles are the very first impressions even before you meet you.

Gaz

-- Stop your grinnin' and drop your linen...they're everywhere!!!
Post #1601066
Posted Friday, August 8, 2014 2:07 AM

SSCertifiable

Oh and Andy's career advice regarding learning missing skills associated to the common skill set for a job title you are aiming for is great advice. I have never thought of it in that way on a conscious level but I think I may have done so on some unconscious level.

Gaz

Post #1601067
Posted Friday, August 8, 2014 2:27 AM

SSC-Forever

SSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-Forever

Last Login: Today @ 1:14 PM
What does "Technical Lead" say about me, I wonder...

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server 2008, MVP
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability