Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««45678

Developers vs. DBAs Expand / Collapse
Author

Old Hand

Old HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld Hand

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 7:40 AM
simon.crick (6/12/2014)
Tension arise when Developer and DBA roles/responsibilities are not properly separated.
It sounds simple because it is. Problems only arise when people forget the basic principles of software engineering, i.e. every component must have a well-defined interface, and users of a component must not bypass the interface or make any assumptions about how the component works internally.

You would think so. But when I've suggested this in interviews for some places in the past, it's been received slightly less well than if I'd something obscenely biological

I'm a DBA.
I'm not paid to solve problems. I'm paid to prevent them.
Post #1585050
Posted Monday, June 23, 2014 5:35 AM

Old Hand

Gary Varga (6/12/2014)
[quote]My point is that, bearing in mind the editorial, the whole way of thinking is as flawed as the value of the number of legs as described in Animal Farm (the George Orwell book for those who are aware of other less literary references that can be attributed to). And no I am not calling DBAs pigs

Personally I see myself more as Boxer

I'm a DBA.
Post #1585064
Posted Monday, June 23, 2014 6:32 AM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Last Login: Today @ 8:02 AM
andrew gothard (6/23/2014)
Gary Varga (6/12/2014)
My point is that, bearing in mind the editorial, the whole way of thinking is as flawed as the value of the number of legs as described in Animal Farm (the George Orwell book for those who are aware of other less literary references that can be attributed to). And no I am not calling DBAs pigs