Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12345»»»

First SQl job were you nervous? Expand / Collapse
Author

SSC-Forever

SSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-Forever

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 8:37 AM
thomashohner (5/4/2014)
I did a Google search and yes the Recursive CTE does seem to have a HUGE performace disadvantage compared to a Loop. I'm still very new at this so my next question to research and understand is why.

It'll probably be faster than an explicit loop. Slower than a proper set-based operation. That's because behind the scenes it is a loop.

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server 2008, MVP
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
We stand on the bridge and no one may pass

Post #1567363
Posted Sunday, May 4, 2014 4:45 PM

SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Last Login: Today @ 7:39 AM
[quote]
Do you use a While Loop or Recursive CTE to make your test data?[quote]

Niether, I spent this time researching how to do this and stumbled on a article by a very articulate fellow on this forum. However I do believe this comment may have been testing how ingnorant I am on the subject which incidentally is very much so.

Thanks look forward to putting your article in action.

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Data+Generation/87901/

***SQL born on date Spring 2013
Post #1567374
Posted Sunday, May 4, 2014 6:59 PM

SSC-Dedicated