Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Truncate before table drop Expand / Collapse
Author
Right there with Babe

Right there with BabeRight there with BabeRight there with BabeRight there with BabeRight there with BabeRight there with BabeRight there with BabeRight there with Babe

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, November 26, 2014 2:44 AM
Hi all,

I have come across some code that does this:

Truncate table Tablename
Drop table Tablename

I have never done a truncate before a drop. I have looked online for reasoning behind this (some people have suggested its quicker, but i have yet to see this proved), but most posts seem to break down into arguments over saying truncate isn't logged (it is!).

So has anyone found if this is actually quicker?

Dan

Post #1566661
Posted Thursday, May 1, 2014 5:33 AM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Last Login: Monday, November 3, 2014 6:29 AM
I believe the performance gain with truncate before drop is minimal to no gain. This is what I could practically see while deleting large table!

-Vijred (http://vijredblog.wordpress.com)
Post #1566677
Posted Thursday, May 1, 2014 7:34 AM

SSChampion

SSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampion

Last Login: Today @ 3:05 PM
I would think that it is actually slower. Both truncate and drop will deallocate pages. These page deallocations are what is logged in a truncate and a drop. This basically means we have two implicit transactions instead of one. The first to deallocate all the pages and a second to drop the table. It would be interesting to see some stats or references where people claim that truncating and then dropping is faster.

Need help? Help us help you.