Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««123»»

Is RDP Access Needed for a SQL Server Administrator? Expand / Collapse
Author

SSChampion

SSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampion

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 8:24 AM
defyant_2004 (12/16/2013)
We really want to protect the server and limit the amount of unnecessary access. Although I am not an expert at DBA work, I have used SSMS in the past and it seems to provide everything our DBAs should need to maintain our SQL Servers without logging onto the server itself and messing things up. We have a 90% uptime we must keep. We also want to prevent any risk for corrupting our Windows Server installations.

this sounds more like you want to keep people away from what you perceive is your responsibility, rather than making sure the company's needs are best served.

try to get away from putting barriers between you and the DBA's; think of working together instead.

turn your question around: what business do YOU have touching the SQL Server without the DBA knowing about it?

when you think of it that way, maybe you'll think, oh yeah, we need to talk to each other before we install updates/take server offline/defrag disks, etc., and they would do the same when they run out of disk space from backups and other things.

Lowell

--There is no spoon, and there's no default ORDER BY in sql server either.
Actually, Common Sense is so rare, it should be considered a Superpower. --my son
Post #1523468
Posted Monday, December 16, 2013 8:12 PM

SSCoach

SSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoach

Last Login: Today @ 11:13 AM
Gotta land on the other side on this one.