Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

SSIS (dtexec) and bulk load permission Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Wednesday, November 6, 2013 2:56 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, November 7, 2013 2:14 AM
Hi,

I am an accidental DBA trying to install existing SQL Server 2005 in a new environment with existing contents. I have done my googling on this but with little help.

We sometimes use Integration Services packages run straight from Execute Package Utility (dtexec) - so NOT from SQL Server Agent job or other application. Now I cannot get a SSIS package to execute at all, when trying to "Run package". The error is "You do not have permission to use bulk load statement." At this point, the package should bulk load data from a csv file to database table. The csv file location and format are specified in dtsConfig files. Other ETL packages without any "outside" csv files run just fine.

As you know, using SSIS this way requires authenticating with Windows credentials. SQL Server is installed on drive D. The csv files in question are situated on drive G on the same server. Any jobs or other SSIS packages have not caused any trouble.

This clearly is some kind of permission issue but what permissions should I give, to whom and where? Advice would be much appreciated.

-- Satu
Post #1511766
Posted Wednesday, November 6, 2013 3:48 AM
SSC Eights!

SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!

Last Login: Friday, December 12, 2014 5:23 AM
check if BulkAdmin rights are assigned to the user which you are connecting to database.
Post #1511778
Posted Wednesday, November 6, 2013 4:33 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie