Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

SSAS - How do I handle dimensions with valid duplicates? Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Monday, September 16, 2013 3:45 AM
Grasshopper

GrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopper

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, August 14, 2014 5:04 AM
I'm new to SSAS and I got a problem I'm not able to resolve. Let's start with two tables, this one being a fact table with accounts and their values:

Fact Table:

Then there is the account hierarchy table that feeds a dimension. This dimension contains the accounts hierarchy. Accounts are grouped into Groups, and a given account can be placed as many times as wanted inside several different groups. The case of having the same account two or more times inside the same Group is not possible. For performance reasons, the hierarchy is naturalized (is this the right term?), and then handled using the HideMemberIf property. Groups have no values by themselves, they take their value from the agreggation of their children. The real hierarchy has 16 levels, but for simplicity here's an example with only 4 levels:

Dim Groups-Accounts:

The goal is to relate the last level of the naturalized hierarchy, Level 3 in this case, with the appropiate value in the fact table:

The problem? When processing the dimension, SSAS complains:

Errors in the OLAP storage engine: A duplicate attribute key has been found when processing: Table: 'CT_DimGroupsAccounts', Column: 'Level_3', Value: 'Account 2'. The attribute is 'Level_3'.

This is true, as Account 2 and Account 3 are duplicated in the Level 3 attribute. If I tell SSAS to ignore Duplicate key errors then processing ends successfully. However, when navigating the resulting cube, the result is: