Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12

The Default DBA Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Wednesday, December 5, 2012 8:33 AM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, August 29, 2013 1:44 PM
As an accidental DBA myself I definitely think more defaults or guidance towards best practice would be a good thing. MS have made great improvements over the years in some areas, the main example coming to mind being setting individual service accounts (with 2012 seemingly creating individual logins and setting permissions for you automatically... though I've yet to find any docs explaining what's actually happening under the hood), but there's definitely room for more.

Considering the direction most other MS server products are going I'm surprised they haven't simply introduced a post-install check list yet. Eg, have a screen popup (until you tell it to go away and never come back) with a list of standard tasks that most installations need, tick boxes to check them off, and links to either get more information or better yet ask SQL to crack on and set it up for you. Experienced users can dismiss it immediately and continue as before, while newbies have a check list of things that if they didn't know about already, they now know they need to learn about and setup.
Post #1393051
Posted Wednesday, December 5, 2012 1:36 PM

SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Last Login: Yesterday @ 10:37 AM
@SAinCA