Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Using the "IF" function in a column Expand / Collapse
Author
Valued Member

Valued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued Member

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, December 18, 2012 4:35 PM
Is it possible to use the "IF" function in a column at design time as the value for that field? I do it regularly in Excel with no problem but I am new to SQL Server and have been unable to figure this one out. I have been using 3 of my own books plus the Online Books but to no avail. If I cannot do it in design, can I create a script (or a stored proceedure) that will do it at run time? Thanks, JRichards54
Post #1378036
Posted Sunday, October 28, 2012 10:48 AM
Ten Centuries

Ten CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen Centuries

Last Login: Today @ 5:38 AM
jrichards54 (10/28/2012)
Is it possible to use the "IF" function in a column at design time as the value for that field? I do it regularly in Excel with no problem but I am new to SQL Server and have been unable to figure this one out. I have been using 3 of my own books plus the Online Books but to no avail. If I cannot do it in design, can I create a script (or a stored proceedure) that will do it at run time? Thanks, JRichards54

SQL Server only permits constants as default values. You could use a computed column to generate (and contain) a value for you, or a check constraint to ensure that an INSERTED/UPDATEd value matches your criteria. In practice? I'd put the logic into the INSERT script.

Low-hanging fruit picker and defender of the moggies

For better assistance in answering your questions, please read this.

Understanding and using APPLY, (I) and (II) Paul White