Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 1234»»»

Should I become a DBA?!? Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, August 26, 2014 3:49 AM
Hi All,

I've been offered a job as the sole MSQL DBA at an up and coming online retailer. I'm from a development background, started out in asp.net, c#, html,css but have a load of experience in SQL developer based projects. Ranging from reporting services to SSIS work and other scripting for migrations etc.
I'm pretty comfortable with T-SQL. However i'm a newbie when it comes to other DBA skills. I can do backups / restores, setup mirroring but things like performance monitoring, security and working on a DB that has 100% HA is new to me.

Is this very challenging work? Will i be stressed to my core? Does anyone on here regret becoming a DBA? As you can tell i'm rather nervous about taking the plunge!

Thanks
Post #1372851
Posted Monday, October 15, 2012 12:15 PM

SSC-Dedicated

SSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-Dedicated

Last Login: Today @ 10:11 AM
bugg (10/15/2012)
Hi All,

I've been offered a job as the sole MSQL DBA at an up and coming online retailer. I'm from a development background, started out in asp.net, c#, html,css but have a load of experience in SQL developer based projects. Ranging from reporting services to SSIS work and other scripting for migrations etc.
I'm pretty comfortable with T-SQL. However i'm a newbie when it comes to other DBA skills. I can do backups / restores, setup mirroring but things like performance monitoring, security and working on a DB that has 100% HA is new to me.