Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12»»

Login failed for user 'NT Service\MSSQLServerOLAPService' 28000 Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Saturday, September 22, 2012 11:37 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Sunday, December 8, 2013 12:35 PM
I am using SQL Server 2012 developer edition on Windows 7. I have the following error attempting to process a dimension: OLE DB error: OLE DB or ODBC error: Login failed for user 'NT Service\MSSQLServerOLAPService' 28000

I am new to SSAS and I have researched this thoroughly but still having trouble and don't have a lot of knowledge of all the different types of accounts.

Thank you very much!
Post #1363144
Posted Saturday, September 22, 2012 1:09 PM

SSCommitted

SSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommitted

Last Login: Thursday, June 12, 2014 2:04 PM
Are you trying to process the cube remotely?

Jayanth Kurup
Post #1363160
Posted Saturday, September 22, 2012 1:34 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Thank you for your help. No, I'm not trying to access the cube remotely. This is a brand new SQL Server 2012 developer edition install with the default accounts on a laptop. The error occurred when I tried to process a dimension I created. I've done a lot of Google searches trying to get an answer and this article on the link below seemed to be the most relevant information:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/224973

By changing the MSSQLServerOLAPService service to run under a domain or local user account that is a member of the OLAP Administrators group on the OLAP server and that has privileges on SQL Server, OLAP Services will be able to successfully process.