Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««4546474849»»»

Tally OH! An Improved SQL 8K “CSV Splitter” Function Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Saturday, December 29, 2012 6:57 PM
Valued Member

Valued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued Member

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, March 25, 2014 2:33 PM
Hi
unbelievable - so good. I have been doing these puter things for 30 years now and i am still amazed how little i know or probably at just how clever other people are. Really well explained and totally useful.

keep up the good work.

APL. My initials not the language.
Post #1401221
Posted Sunday, December 30, 2012 10:02 AM

SSCrazy Eights

SSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy Eights

Last Login: 2 days ago @ 10:00 AM
Jeff Moden (12/28/2012)

If you look at the execution plan, it doesn't actually use the "same list". CTEs have some wonderful advantages but they also have a hidden fault. Instead of using the same internal result set from a CTE when things like self joins are used, the entire CTE is re-executed.

Now, if only one could force the optimiser to spool the CTE and reuse it, CTEs would be far more useful. Would they be useful enough to deliver a performance gain here? Maybe, and maybe not.