Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««34567»»»

Use of Identity Property to Resolve Concurrency Issues Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Thursday, February 24, 2011 2:12 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Saturday, February 15, 2014 6:29 AM
Hi,

Can i ask what database you used that had locking hints in 1991?
I thought this was not added until SQL92 in 1992, but 20 years is a long time.

I use SQL server from version 2005, but I use DB-systems from the 90's, nl. Oracle and Interbase.
And Interbase did have some unbelievable powerful transaction management, and Inprise screwed this powerfull system.
And from 2001 I use also open-source Firebird DB (what is a fork of Interbase) and PostgreSQL. I studied the source files of firebird for 8 years and learned a lot how an DB-engine works inside.

And I believe that Interbase/Firebird introduced the system what is introduced in the Yukon engine as read-committed snapshot for over 20 years ago.

Using different database systems give me other ideas how to solve solutions.

And there is a huge difference between optimistic en pessimistic DB-systems.
  • PostgreSQL/ Oracle / Interbase / firebird are optimistic (readers don't block writers and writers don't block readers), but they have special anomalies like read/write skew

• DB2 / SQL-server are pessimistic DB-servers (a lot of locks)

• So, locks (or lock hints) aren't always the solution to do the work, only in some very special cases. And DB-systems are getting smarter and smarter if you feed them with correct information (constrainst etc..) to reduce the manual interactions of giving hints.

I did some sessions in Belgium about the key difference between those systems to database developers.

Danny
    Post #1069304