Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««123»»

Stairway to SQL Server Indexes: Step 1, Introduction to Indexes Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, May 14, 2014 4:25 PM

I've been working with databases for about 15 years now, though more as a developer than a dba, and this is the first article I've read that explained indexing in a way that I understand. Well done!
Post #1130717
Posted Tuesday, July 5, 2011 12:47 PM

Old Hand

Old HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld Hand

Last Login: Yesterday @ 5:19 PM
David:

I have to disagree that a phone book is an unclustered index.

Unless I'm mistaken, the white pages contain data physically sorted by
last name, first name and address. Once you access the entry
you're looking for, you have all the data; there's no bookmark to follow.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding something, but that sounds like a clustered index to me.

Thanks,
Peter

Peter Maloof
Serving Data
Post #1136757
Posted Wednesday, July 13, 2011 6:41 AM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Last Login: Today @ 10:18 AM
Peter Maloof (7/5/2011)
David:

I have to disagree that a phone book is an unclustered index.

Unless I'm mistaken, the white pages contain data physically sorted by
last name, first name and address. Once you access the entry
you're looking for, you have all the data; there's no bookmark to follow.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding something, but that sounds like a clustered index to me.

Thanks,
Peter

Peter,