Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12

reset sa password Expand / Collapse
Author

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, December 19, 2014 8:46 AM
sql2k8 (1/30/2011)
I don't have any other sysadmin account, i am an administrator on the machine . i am not sysadmin. I don't have any other accounts with sysadmin priviliges.I am trying to do this on sql server 2008 server

You are administrator on the box, but you have no administrator account to get into SQL Server, do I understand this correctly?

Do you have any account to be able to login into SQL Server? What permissions in SQL Server do you have?

If you are not a SQL Server Security Admin or SysAdmin, you may not be able to reset the SA password. Box Admin and SQL Server admin are not the same thing.

Brandie Tarvin, MCITP Database Administrator

Webpage: http://www.BrandieTarvin.net
LiveJournal Blog: http://brandietarvin.livejournal.com/
On LinkedIn!, Google+, and Twitter.

Freelance Writer: Shadowrun
Latchkeys: Nevermore, Latchkeys: The Bootleg War, and Latchkeys: Roscoes in the Night are now available on Nook and Kindle.
Post #1056119
Posted Monday, January 31, 2011 6:20 AM

SSC-Forever

SSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-Forever

Last Login: Today @ 9:22 AM
Brandie Tarvin (1/31/2011)
Box Admin and SQL Server admin are not the same thing.

They are if SQL is running in single user mode. Challenge appears to be to find what app is stealing the single connection.

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server 2008, MVP
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability